reviews of 3622 web apps
in 181 categories

Private ME

Private Photo Camera Conceal


Tiny
Published 11/05/2012 and rated Ratingstars4 4 out of 5 stars
by Dorothy Distefano
What can you use the app for?

Private Me is a mirror app that is enhanced by privacy. The app cannot save or share photos accidentally via a three step save system. This can be used for intimate photos or photos in which an identifying mark, private information, or other items should be "blacked out" or hidden.

Private ME screenshot
Show more screenshots »
What is the history and popularity of the app?

Private ME is a brand new app from Intimate Apps, Inc. It is currently ranked in the United States at number 516 out of 584 apps in the Photography category. No information is available about Private Me or their creators, Intimate Apps, Inc.

What are the differences to other apps?

Most of the popular photo applications allow quick snapshots that are easily and promptly uploaded to social media sites or sent to others via text message or email directly from an iPhone. The ease and efficiency of these applications can be a downfall, and this is what Private ME is trying to remedy. Celebrities, politicians, teenagers, and others have accidentally sent photographs of themselves that may be considered intimate or private. Without a privacy feature or several step saving system, this can be very embarrassing. Private ME adds these features so that parts of a photo, whether a feature or a license plate, can be blacked out and the saving/sending feature is multi-step.

Alternative Apps
How does the web app look and feel to use?

The first thing a user does is touch the freeze bar to freeze an image. This may be done multiple times until the desired view is reached. The freeze function does not save the image.

After freezing a photo,the user may utilize the blackout feature. By touching the screen and dragging the bar in the areas to be hidden, rectangles of black is applied to the photo. This can be removed and added again by clicking the blackout icon, in the case of an error. Once any privacy blackouts have been added, the user touches the icon that appears as a roll of film. This confirms whether the user wants to save the photo. The user is then asked to give permission to Private ME to access photos. Once the photo is saved, it must be accessed from the user's library to be saved or shared. It is not shared directly from the app, thus resulting in less accidental postings. The photo is not saved within the app at all. The app resets to the beginning screen.

The dual intensity lighting illuminates the face, even in a dark room, though the photo appeared slightly grainy.

Because instructions, prompts, or buttons are not offered during the process, the photo may not be saved. During testing, this happened several times. Once a user becomes used to the interface, this should not be an issue.

How does the registration process work?

There is no registration for Private ME. Anyone may purchase it from the iTunes store.

What does it cost to use the application?

The application is, at present, 99 cents in the iTunes store. The website claims that this is half price for a limited time.

Who would you recommend the application to?

The marketing for this application is directed toward individuals who engage in sending provocative or sexy pictures, but can also be used by others to send photos.

The application can also be used as a mirror for checking makeup, hair, and appearance.

  • Timer to set for 3-5 second photo delay
  • Light to increase contrast for photo
  • Use of front or back facing camera
  • Blackout bar for personal information
  • Ability to save photo if desired


Private ME video

comments powered by Disqus

Top 10 Business Apps for August 2017

Subscribe

Private ME pricing

Cheapest plan (per month) : $0.99

Mobile versions

Iphone app

Iphone app

Ipad app

Ipad app

Languages

English

English

Private ME on Twitter

Private ME on Facebook